How it All Started?

How it All Started?

Only Honest Confessions.

Honest Confessions to One-Self are my way to a satisfied life. This is my way of thinking about life.

I always considered myself a bright student but overconfidence, an indisciplined way of living and playing too much cricket cost me too much. But At last with my extremely hard work in coding and having enough confidence in myself to bounce back, I have recovered a lot and almost going to take off from here.

The Background

I got admission to a government engineering college in Punjab (Shaheed Bhagat Singh State Technical Campus) 2018 batch. Passed out in 2022 with a 7.2 cgpa . Done 4 years of **B-**tech-CSE from a tier-3 college in India of which 2 years got directly eaten by The Covid-19 Monster. In College, I opted for Computer Science Engineering randomly just because I had heard from many seniors that cs is the hot field in engineering which pays a decent amount as mechanical was losing scope.

  1. Shock-Time

When I started to read computer science subjects in 2nd semester, it was a big shock to me as I was unable to make an interest in coding and lacked a personal laptop, cricket and the environment I got in my college, All adds up to the perfect mix of myself losing interest in coding. And in the 4th semester, the Covid-19 thing happened and in desperation, I returned home from college for health security purposes. Somehow I lose all interest in coding. And started to play cricket all time.

  1. Even Bigger-Shock

Placement Season was around the corner in my final year, but in my college, only service-based companies come for recruiting (mass recruiters). And all my friends were getting placed. And to my Surprise I couldn't even crack mass recruiter exams also. This was a very huge eye-opener for in which direction my life is going. So I panicked a bit and started studying for service-based companies. and after 130 days of preparation, I sat in exams and cracked for two companies named Infosys and Capgemini.

  1. Turn-Around

Even after getting placed, I was not satisfied as my inner self always knew I deserved much more than what I was getting at that time. And Recession came across the globe on August, 22, and my date of joining the company was getting delayed and I had plenty of time in the world. One day while scrolling through youtube videos I came across Kunal's Channel and after watching some content on his channel, I just made up my mind to do more to get more. And then I started learning Java (because the name fascinated me at that time)from Kunal's playlist and slowly in one month I solved many basic questions and my interest in coding started to grow. That's how it all Started.

  1. Blessing-In-Disguise

While learning Java, I always imagined, how they use this language in building real applications. And again one day while scrolling through youtube videos, I got to know about Navin Reddy sir(Telusko) who talks about Java on youtube. As my date of joining got delayed more, In October 2022, Navin sir came with a course (which acted as a blessing in disguise for me ) on how Java language is used in building real web applications (Java Full-Stack Web Application ). And the money was like 17000Rs. approx for the course which was huge for me. But I was determined to join the course and learn Java full stack .so I paid my fees in monthly emi of approx 1400 which was quite manageable.

And Ultimately, after my interest grew in Java, I injected my passion for doing work and till now I had learned almost every concept required for making a full-stack web application in Java stack. I worked very hard and now I am very much comfortable with coding. I did coding every day for almost 9 months now. And I am going to sit in placements from June. I know, I will make it big once I am in this.

  1. Learnings

I had learned Core Java, Collection Framework, Multi-Threading, Java Database Connectivity (JDBC), SQL (Structured Query Language), MySql(Database), Advance Java(J2EE-Servlets, Java Server Pages, JSTL), ORM Tool(Hibernate Framework), Htm5, Css3, BootStrap5, Spring Framework, Spring Boot, Git, Github, Basic JavaScript, Maven, Eclipse Ide, VsCode, Hikari Cp, Basic Aws, ThymLeaf and many more I am learning right now.

  1. Struggles While Learning and How to Overcome

Bug- Never get discouraged while you face bugs in your code .try to learn what is the basic cause of that bug and try not to repeat it. Ask friends, teachers, discord groups, different communities, telegram, StackOverflow, ChatGpt etc.

Logic Building-Logic comes from thinking, practicing and seeing how other writes code and what is their way of thinking. keep repeating this and in no time you will build logic for your programs.

Procrastination -Always try to stay busy(productive busy). It will help in doing real work and less procrastination.

Imposter Syndrome - I Have never seen a good programmer,who once doesn't suffer from this. Imposter syndrome is the problem of your mind doubting your ability to do something. Always remember your brain plays tricks on you. Never fall into that trap. Be confident and try to order your mind instead of taking orders from your mind.

Patience: Have patience. Learn from nature. Grow slowly but build your foundation strong. Learn your basics.

important Make projects and write code instead of watching too many videos. Don't fall into the video trap. Write in code whatever you have learned and try to implement those concepts while building projects. This is the best way to learn.

  1. Thanks to All my Mentors

Very much fortunate that I have found mentors like Nitin Manjunath Sir, Hyder Abaas Sir, and Navin Reddy Sir from INEURON.AI from which I have learned everything. I have never experienced teachers who deliver so much from the scratch and who can make you understand every concept in detail. Always obliged for this.And also thanks to my youtube mentor i.e-Kunal Kuswaha.Thanks, brother. You have done great for me and the community.

MY TEACHERS WHO HAVE TAUGHT ME EVERYTHING

  1. What Next?

I will complete my remaining topics of spring and microservices in May and try to get a good job and start to work on open source projects either remotely or in India or Abroad (only time knows). But definitely, not an underpaid developer as I have worked extremely hard to inject the confidence of a good developer.

  1. Connection

You can connect with me by tapping the following links :

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/gaurav4044/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Sharma1809157

GitHub: https://github.com/Gaurav560

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Gaurav Sharma by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!